Temporary repair of EGR exhaust pipe

I have managed to do a temporary repair on the EGR exhaust pipe or “better” still what is left of it! We are currently in Austria on vacation and I don’t want to try to remove the flange from the exhaust manifold just in case I damage the bolts and I can not repair it and ending up to take the Land-cruiser in to a garage. I found in a local shop an exhaust repair kit which is a kind of bandage soaked in glue which goes hard when the exhaust heats up. I hope this is good enough until I’m back home to do a proper job.  It looks like a bodged up  but with the restricted access this is the best I can do. We have still managed to visit my friend, Christoph and his son Jason on the way down as we have crossed Germany on our way to Austria.

broken exhaust flange
broken exhaust flange
temporary repair
temporary repair
Diane with our friend Christoph and his son Jason
Diane with our friend Christoph and his son Jason and his lovely Toyota Hilux

Leave a Reply

