Land Cruiser 100 Wing replacement

It started about 2 years ago, when I have noticed a view bubbles developing in the paint work of the right wing. I know soon or later I will have to do something about it.  If I would have bothered a bit earlier I could save the wing with a bit of welding. Unfortunately I have left it to long and the best and probably the cheapest alternative was to buy a new wing. I ordered a new one at my local Toyota dealer and within 2 days I had the wing in my hands. Luckily the Girl from the shop noticed the new Wing was a bit bend on the corners and she has ordered a new one strait away. I have to admit the service at my dealer is fantastic. After another couple of days I received the wing, this time undamaged.

DSC_5304

DSC_5326

DSC_5325

First job was to take the snorkel off to make a new template. I have lost he original template which was supplied with the gear.

DSC_5047-blog

To transfer and cutting out to the new wing was no bother at all.

DSC_5082-blog

As I want the replacement wing to last a bit longer as the old one. I had to protect the inner side of the wing and also the inner fender apron with corrosion inhibitor. For this I have used first  DINITROL RC900S Rust Converter and after some drying time sprayed some DINITROL 3125 Cavity Wax.

Before

DSC_5306

DSC_5307

After

DSC_5316

DSC_5327

Job done. Next step is to hand the LC over to the paint shop.

Leave a Reply

