Hoist for Roof tent

The last 10 years I have lifted the Roof rack and the Roof tent with somebody’s help on to the Land Cruiser. Usually nobody is around when I want to do it. Unfortunately my Garage is not high enough to lift on to the Car. The best bet is to fabricate some kind of a small hoist, which I can dismantle easily and stow away. Also it should save a lot of time.

My idea is to use the hitch receiver from the ARB bumper to connect the crane as the Land cruiser would act as counter weight and saves me having to make a solid stand up.

I purchased 50x50mm Box tube, the reason is the ARB hitch receiver is about the same size and I got my welding gear out.

DSCN0301-blog

It was a bit of trial and error until I found the best solution. First I thought I would make the complete hoist out of the box tube but it was far too heavy to handle it single-handed and if I need a helping hand what’s the point to make it in the first place?

DSCN0303-blog

DSCN0304-blog

Only the first section is out of the box tube.

DSCN0311-blog

It is very important the hoist can turn 360 degrees to handle the Roof tent and also the roof rack. I found a cheap bearing and some scaffolding tubes on the Internet that would fit precisely in to the box tube.

DSCN0307-blog

I found a cheap bearing and some scaffolding tubes on the Internet that would fit precisely in to the box tube.

DSCN0310-blog

A simple mechanism, made out of scaffolding fittings. I can add a longer tube if necessary.

DSCN0308-blog

I braced the 90 degrees angle for sturdiness and which can be altered very easily to compensate for the flexing.

DSCN0306-blog

The hoist is built in the simplest manner and can be dismantled in very short time for storage.

DSCN0312

After painting, I have fitted it to the Land cruiser for a trial.

DSCN0314-blog

The bottom part fits in to the ARB hitch receiver.

DSCN0325

I used the roof rack for the test.

DSCN0319

DSCN0324

It worked very well. I have no problem with the height for the roof rack but for the roof tent is it probably to low, but I can alter the height of the scaffolding pole. At the minute I won’t be needing to use the roof tent, therefore I can change things around later on.

DSCN0326

I have no problems with the hand winch and cable. Also the brace is more then strong enough.

Leave a Reply

