New Pedders springs installed on my Land cruiser

The other day when I had my head under the LC I noticed the left hand spring was broken.  Last year I installed new Pedders shock absorbers but never bothered to change the springs as well. The Pedders shocks are heavy duty but I’m not sure if this had anything to do with the broken spring. It seems to me not so long ago when I have installed the Old Man Emu springs but after I have checked the mileage on it, I discovered it was more then 50 000 miles. So they have not performed as badly as the LC is very often heavy laden and used offroad a lot.

DSC_8186

It did not took very long for a new set of Pedders (7845) extra heavy duty springs to arrive and with a pair of Urethane 20mm Coil Spring Insulator which fit perfectly to it.

DSC_8172

The Pedders springs are slightly higher than the OME’s and definitely stiffer but the diameter of the coil is still the same.

DSC_8175

It took a bit an effort to install the new springs as they not compress very well but eventually I have succeeded. Pedders claim this springs are suited for constantly loaded vehicles but I plan to install an auxiliary tank in the near future, this is not an issue for me as Io will have plenty extra weight on the rear axle.

DSC_8195

I hope the pedders coil springs perform so well as the OME’s. Only time will tell.

3 thoughts on “New Pedders springs installed on my Land cruiser

  1. I recently replaced the stock coils that came on my 2013 Wrangler Unlimited. They were sagging more than an inch under the weight of my heavy aftermarket bumper. I ended up replacing them with stiffer factory springs that raised it about two-inches from the current position. The downside was this effectively leveled my Jeep so the vehicles lines don’t look right. (With the factory rake the front fenders which are about an inch higher look level with the ground, without the rake the jeep looks higher in the front event though it isn’t.) There is still a lot of work to build up the Jeep to where it needs to be.

    I really like your blog and will definitely stay tuned for progress updates. I’ve been doing something similar with my blog, my last vehicle build update was about rebuilding the suspension as well. You might find it interesting. Keep up the great work.

    Like

    1. Thanks for liking my blog. It is always nice to hear from people who are interested.

      I had a good read of your blog about the suspension. I was very surprised you are experiencing rust problems like here in the UK. It can be sometimes very frustrating to work on the Car and I ended up a view times to throw the hammer in but on the end everything worked again it’s the feeling of being proud which overcomes me.

      It is definitely a financial matter as well and this limits what can be done on the Car. I’m often think if money would be not an issue I could invest much more on the Car, tools and even a proper Garage to work in it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The U.S. is a big place. I live in South West Wisconsin where we get a lot of snow and with it lots of salt trucks. Thankfully my rust problems have been limited to surface rust and seized bolts. I should get the Jeep up on ramps and crawl under it with a wire wheel, remove the rust and pant it. Looking forward to your next post.

        Like

Leave a Reply

