Land Cruiser 100 fuel tank 2

I’m still waiting for the tank protector to arrive. I have now plenty time to continue on the fuel tank.  I removed all hoses and covers and have taken the sender unit out. I would aspect much more dirt on the strainer. Even the internal of the tank was pretty clean.

DSC_8314

On the next step I have spent a number of hours to clean the outside of the tank from rust. Then I sprayed a couple of layers Dinitrol RC900 rust converter on.

DSC_8339

I had a good opportunity to install the balance pipe which is required for the auxiliary Front runner tank which I planned to install very soon.  Also I have installed all the fittings for the tank and a new strainer for the pick-up pipe.

DSC_8341

After a couple of days to let the rust converter work in to the metal I have painted the outside of the tank with chassis lack a couple of times.

DSC_8436

DSC_8423

At last I have sprayed Dinitrol 3125 HS over the paint which is a corrosion prevention fluid with has an excellent film building properties on open surfaces and leaves a brown,waxy,water repellent film. This, I hope, prevent any further corrosion.

DSC_8437

 

Leave a Reply

