Auxiliary Tank – Underbody preperation

The underbody of my land Cruiser has definitely seen better days and I’m not surprised to see the fixing point rot away. In some other Country’s the Land Cruiser 100  is equipped with a auxiliary tank and the same fixing points are used. The bolt holes are unusable which ment I had to cut the rotten material away.

dsc_8069

This must be the cheapest available weld-on nut what Toyota’s money could buy. I’m not surprised the thread was not existent.

dsc_8453

To make a strong connection I used a mild steel box section which I have welded a nut inside and bolted on to the rear underfloor panel reinforcement. This should last a long time.

 

dsc_8228

dsc_8191

Everything is painted with chassis Lack, connected and bolted up. Before fitting the tank I sprayed on some underbody and cavity wax.

dsc_8442

dsc_8447

Next step is fitting the tank.

 

Leave a Reply

